Edinburgh and Scottish Borders
Home Contact Us People Finder Search
Launch Heriot-Watt University remote navigation menu
Launch Heriot-Watt University remote navigation menu

Information About


Focus on the Future

The Values Programme


The Spirit of Heriot-Watt University


Valuing and Respecting Everyone Pursuing Excellence Pride and Belonging Shaping The Future Outward Looking

The 'Spirit of Heriot-Watt' Awards


The 'Spirit of Heriot-Watt' Award Winners 2010



Back row left to right: Margaret Stobie, Eva Day, Jacqui Baird, Alan Forster, Margaret Austin

Front row left to right: Leony Mayhew, Sandra Darling, Steve Chapman, Jim McVee, Tony Peyton


The 2010 Spirit of Heriot-Watt Award Winners were announced at the Awards Event held on 8 June 2010. Information about all of the winners can be found on each of the Values pages.


The winners are:


Valuing and Respecting Everyone:

Margaret Stobie – Deputy Facilities Manager, School of Life Sciences

Pursuing Excellence:

Joint winners:

Margaret Austin – Research Grants Officer, Finance

Alan Forster – Lecturer School of Built Environment

Pride and Belonging:

Jacqui Baird – Hospitality Services

Shaping the Future:

The Technicians Team – School of Textiles and Design

Outward Looking:

Eva Day – European Research Manager, TRS


For a list of all Shortlisted Nominees click here

For a list of all finalists and winners click here

Click here for the Heriot-Watt News and Events Newsletter piece


Dave receives his award from the Principal, Prof. Steve Chapman

Dave Love,  a member of the Security Team, received a Spirit of Heriot-Watt Award for Pursuing Excellence in September 2010. The Award recognised Dave's contribution to resolving a choking incident that took place on campus involving one of the children at Pinocchio’s Nursery. Dave was able to provide life-saving first aid and offer support and reassurance to all those directly involved. To see the University News article click here .


Back to Values Homepage





Sharan Virdee
Values Programme Project Leader
Tel: 0131 451 3980

Alan Prior
People Theme Team Leader
Tel: 0131 451 4404

Julie Dickson
Development Programme Project Leader
Tel: 0131 451 8430

Robbie Mochrie
Development Framework Project Leader
0131 451 3481

Kirsty Hughes
Staff Survey Project Leader
Tel: 0131 451 3700








Quick links


Background Information
April 2009 'Values' Workshop

September- October 2009 Senior Management Focus Groups

November 2009 - Wider Staff Focus Groups 

December 2009 - Correspondence Exercise Dubai 
Student Focused Activities
Briefing Session Presentation March 2010 

Equalities Home|

|Monitoring| |Contacts| Top of the Page
Heriot-Watt University,
Edinburgh EH14 4AS,
+44 (0) 131 449 5111
Last Updated:30 July 2010 Text Only Version © Copyright Heriot-Watt University, Disclaimer